To be kneeling again…only kneeling again…

The subject of kneeling has been a difficult thing for me. For as long as I’ve been in the scene, which is getting close to twenty years now, I’ve wanted to learn kneeling positions but for various reasons, such as the timing or interests of partners not lining up except once, it’s not been a Thing. For that one time it did, it was like a light shone from inside of me. A light I had almost forgotten existed. I also began to find that meditating on my knees was a thing that brought me great peace and clarity. When I first started, I also began to find that I could kneel for longer as I practiced.

However, bodies are funny things. Sometimes, they can’t do the things they used to be able to do. I don’t know if I fucked it up or if it’s a product of getting older, or both, but somewhere along the lines a few months ago, my right knee began telling me that kneeling wasn’t such a good idea anymore. I tried many things. Adjusting positions. For the Gorean positions I was practicing, the ones involving being on both my hands and knees were better, but still had some issues, especially for more than five or ten minutes. I tried adjusting the positions, but that still only helped for short term. Eventually, it became something I couldn’t sustain.

This sadness this has caused hurt so badly that took my breath away. I’ve literally found it hard to center myself via breathing and meditating because my body wants so badly to be on my knees. Wants…so many things that that means.

And yet…we can’t always have what we want.

But.

A few weekends ago at TES Fest, I was in a scene. At various parts, down on my knees. It was like the sun had finally come out. (The impact and endorphins helped a lot, too) I tried so hard not to get overwhelmed with the fear of how fleeting it was. Tried not to hold on to it too tightly and just embrace where I was in the moment, because there were other things going on, too. But I was so grateful. After the scene was over, I tried not to get lost in the fact that it was over. That I wasn’t sure when I wound be on my knees again. Not sure how possible it was going to be for many reasons. Since life has been relatively busy, I managed to put it aside for awhile.

Then my best friend took me to Santa Fe this past weekend for my 40th birthday. On our last day there, we were treated to a 90 minute session at 10,000 Waves, a spa that is known for it’s soaking tubs, both private and public. Our treat was a private suite with two teacup soaking tubs.

Do you know what’s incredibly possible and a helluva lot less painful in a warm, 2′ deep teacup soaking tub?

Kneeling.

Do you know what I did for the majority of the time I was in that tub, as soon as I realized this?

Knelt.

At first, I cried. I tried not to make it all sobbing, because y’know, there with my best friend and we’re supposed to be having a relaxing experience. But once I got some of the tears quietly out, I threw all the gratitude I had out into the universe and felt everything in me relax. I meditated, I asked the universe for guidance with a lot of the difficulties I’m currently having with D/s, relationships, life. I opened myself up and felt the pain of not knowing how often I’d be able to kneel but also being so grateful that I could do it at all.

Once that all flowed through me, as I concentrated on just breathing and letting whatever I felt happen, I got…giddy. And started to draft a filk of “Human Again” from Beauty and the Beast. I don’t know if I’m the first, but seriously, after a while, all I could think was “To be kneeling again, only kneeling again, when my body once more feels at ease. I’ll be where I belong, dear god, it’s been so long since I’ve felt so much like me…”

There’s more, but it’s not quite finished. Gotta work on that.

Right now, though, I’m just so glad I got that out, that I had these two experiences to show me that things can change, and they might end, but there are still possibilities I never expected. The core is still there in me, regardless of if I’m on my knees are not. Now I just have to figure out how to tap into it more.

Leave a Reply

